Woly Award: U.S. women’s eights

If you’re looking for dominant U.S. squads, you have to consider the women’s eights, the marquee event in rowing. The USA won gold in 2008 and 2012.

But most of that team has moved on. Only Caroline Lind, a rower/debutante, returned from the London crew to row in the World Cup over the weekend in Lucerne, Switzerland.

They still won.

They still set a world record — 5:54.17.

And everyone in the boat — coxswain Katelin Snyder, Heidi Robbins, Vicky Opitz, Lind, Grace Luczak, Lauren Schmetterling, Emily Regan, Kerry Simmonds and Amanda Polk — will share this week’s Woly Award, given for excellence in Olympic sports by U.S. athletes.

The other top contender for the award this week: Triathlon newcomer Katie Hursey won a World Cup race in Palamos, Spain.

Published by

Beau Dure

The guy who wrote a bunch of soccer books and now runs a Gen X-themed podcast while substitute teaching and continuing to write freelance stuff.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s